Skyvie/ December 15, 2023/ Pax Dei

<![CDATA[

Greetings Paxians!

Back in March, when we laid out our vision for Pax Dei, a living and breathing Social Sandbox MMO, we made a call for volunteers to participate in our testing program. We’ve been humbled by the response. We want to thank all of you who have wishlisted Pax Dei on Steam, signed up on playPaxDei.com, and joined our Discord community. Thank you for supporting our project, and thank you for your patience so far!

While we’ve already conducted multiple rounds of (confidential) playtests with small groups of players, we have now reached the stage where we need to scale things up and check that the foundations are sound. The time has come… for our first Alpha test! 

TL;DR

The first large-scale Alpha test for Pax Dei will start on November 14, 2023, at 10:00 am UTC (11:00 CET; 2:00 am PST; 5:00 am EST) and close on November 27, 2023, at 10:00 pm UTC (23:00 CET; 2:00 pm PST; 5:00 pm EST).

Code-named “Home Valley”, it’s focusing on peaceful gameplay

For a chance to participate, sign up on playPaxDei.com by November 12 and fill out your profile. Make sure you and your friends use the same “Friend’s Token” to join as a group.

Make sure to head to Discord to check how things are going once we’re live!

Alpha – Home Valley

With Pax Dei, we set out to create a world players can call their virtual home. And we mean it literally. The ability for each player to claim a plot in a shared world and make it their own is, we think, pretty unique in an MMO setting and very cool! We’ve been blown away by what some of our testers have been able to make of this feature already. We can’t wait to see that happens when we let enough players in so as to fill the map with such creations. 

For our first large-scale Alpha, code-named “Home Valley”, we’re therefore focusing on peaceful gameplay:

Explore a vast world. We’ve recently doubled the size of the world, now offering four Provinces covering nearly 300km² (116 mi²). There are over twenty valleys to choose the perfect spot to inhabit.

Find abundant resources. Gather or hunt a vast array of resources, set up multiple crafters, and unlock a ton of recipes for crafting gear, weapons, and potions to aid in your adventures.

Build your home. Dozens of building pieces are available for you to combine into the perfect home on your own plot.

Gather your friends. Group up as a Clan to share storages, crafters, or plots, making collaboration for larger projects much easier.

Get a first taste of adventure. Encounter numerous enemies and rare spawns in various camps, caves, and dungeons. Exercise caution! Some areas can be perilous, and death carries consequences.

Discover bugs of all shapes and forms. Yes, that’s why we’re calling it an Alpha.

Work in progress

While we’re confident there’s already plenty to enjoy in this first glimpse at Pax Dei, the game is by no means complete yet. We feel it important to give you a sense of the highest items on our “What’s next” list, namely:

Combat & RPG systems are still in the works and will be heavily overhauled before too long. You can check this recent article for more information about what’s coming.

PVP is currently disabled to prioritize testing other game features. It is definitely part of the game’s core concept and will return.

And much more! Believe us when we say we have ideas for systems and gameplay for years to come.

Your feedback will be key to helping us move forward on this journey, and we can’t be grateful enough for your active participation in the Alpha.

How to participate

The Pax Dei “Home Valley Alpha” will start on November 14, 2023, at 10:00 am UTC (11:00 am CET; 2:00 am PST; 5:00 am EST) and close on November 27, 2023, at 10:00 pm UTC (23:00 pm CET; 2:00 pm PST; 5:00 pm EST).

To get a chance to participate, make sure to:

Sign up for the Alpha on playPaxDei.com by November 12.

Fill out your profile on account.playPaxDei.com

Don’t forget to add a friend’s token to play with your mates! 

For more details, check our FAQ.

We plan to gradually invite a few thousand testers into the game, enough to fill one copy of the world as it stands today. From November 14, we will waive any confidentiality requirement, so whether you are selected or not, make sure to head to Discord to check how things are going and share your impressions.

MMOs don’t exist without their communities. We can’t wait to see the pristine world that our team is building come to life as we let players in. By participating in our Alpha, you’re actively helping in the making of Pax Dei. We couldn’t do it without you.

Gratias maximas et pax vobiscum. 
– The team at Mainframe.

]]>

​ 

Share this Post